The IUSB Vision Weblog

The way to crush the middle class is to grind them between the millstones of taxation and inflation. – Vladimir Lenin

Archive for June 8th, 2011

Palin bashers on “Paul Revere” eat crow. Paul Revere’s own words verify Palin correct.

Posted by iusbvision on June 8, 2011

Sarah is clearly exhausted in this video. She is on a tour talking to people non stop day after day and living on a bus with never enough sleep and reporters dogging her every move. If I follow you around 24/7 on such a tour and tape everything how many moments of non perfect articulation am I likely to get on tape? Even so, Sarah gets this piece of history correct.

Prof. William A. Jacobson, a law professor at Cornell gets the truth from Paul Revere’s own words.

Letter from Paul Revere to Jeremy Belknap, circa 1798:

I observed a Wood at a Small distance, & made for that. When I got there, out Started Six officers, on Horse back, and ordered me to dismount;-one of them, who appeared to have the command, examined me, where I came from,& what my Name Was? I told him. it was Revere, he asked if it was Paul? I told him yes He asked me if I was an express? I answered in the affirmative. He demanded what time I left Boston? I told him; and added, that their troops had catched aground in passing the River, and that There would be five hundred Americans there in a short time, for I had alarmed the Country all the way up. He immediately rode towards those who stopped us, when all five of them came down upon a full gallop; one of them, whom I afterwards found to be Major Mitchel, of the 5th Regiment, Clapped his pistol to my head, called me by name, & told me he was going to ask me some questions, & if I did not give him true answers, he would blow my brains out. He then asked me similar questions to those above. He then ordered me to mount my Horse, after searching me for arms.

Says Prof. Jacobson:

“Palin’s short statement on the video was less than clear; that sometimes happens but the part of the statement which has people screaming — that Revere warned the British that the colonial militias were waiting — appears to be true.”

 

UPDATE:

[Editor’s Note – I listened to a clip from NPR. The NPR reporter was all geared up to have their official goto historian on to blast Governor Palin. You could hear the excitement in the reporter’s voice, it was unmistakable. It was also unmistakable how deflated said NPR reporter became when their history professor said that Sarah’s remarks were correct. I must confess to taking a certain pleasure at said reporter’s expense.

I found the clip – http://www.npr.org/2011/06/06/137011636/how-accurate-were-palins-comments-on-paul-revere ]

There were actually signal shots involved in his exploits. See “Paul Revere’s Ride” by David Hackett Fischer. Hint: There were multiple rides. As far as sounding the bell, she obviously means “alarm bells” as a figure of speech. ]

This film recreation of Paul Revere’s Ride also had his run in, and warning to the British.

The Ride – Paul Revere short educational film piece

Patterico has a list of most of the leftist bloggers and elite “media reporters” who just could not bring themselves to do a few minutes worth of homework.

ABC News is at it again. They post no retraction or any mention of the historians who said that Sarah was correct. I noticed that several of the comments of people who tried correcting ABC were vanishing. So I posted a comment telling them about the letter mentioned above and asked them for a correction. Soon after my comment was deleted.

The hit piece from ABC was written by Sheila Marikar and when one examines her twitter page it seems obvious that she views the Governor with a degree of contempt. So naturally ABC made her their official Palin correspondent for the 2012 election http://abcn.ws/mrWLIa .

This is no different than Sarah Palin’s “Party like it’s 1773” comment. The elite media and the leftist bloggers went nuts calling her names “Doesn’t she know that the Boston Tea Party was in 1776” … oh really… Boston Tea Party.

[Editor’s Note – So lets take a walk through ABC’s Hit Piece Memory Lane. 

ABC News has had the most unethical Sarah Palin coverage I have seen. 

In the infamous interview with ABC’s Charlie Gibson, ABC cut out many of the substantive parts of her answers to foreign policy questions. Gibson misquoted Palin when he scolded her for saying that Iraq was a “mission from God”. Palin never said it in that context as the full quote was selectively edited. Palin’s answer about the “Bush Doctrine” was also correct; as there are six “Bush Doctrines” with Sarah naming one and Gibson naming one.

When ABC’s Barbara Walters asked Sarah Palin the infamous question again “what do you read” they edited out the books she mentioned about law, philosophy and history such as Liberty & Tyranny by famed attorney and legal scholar Mark Levin.

ABC Calling Sarah Palin “Barbie” – LINK

ABC saying that “Limbaugh has a history of making racially offensive comments” – but offered no proof  – LINK

ABC  – If you oppose Obama on policy, your racist – LINK

ABC does an infomercial for ObamaCare yet refuses health care ads from Republicans – LINK (2)

ABC questions asked to Republicans vs Democrats – LINK and I could go ON and ON.

Related:

See “Attitude Change Propaganda” at Work Courtesy ABC News. UPDATED!

ABC News Managing Editor: I didnt even know about the ACORN story.

In The Tank: NBC & ABC Refuse Health Law Ads from Conservative Groups. – UPDATE: ABC Medical Correspondent is Obama $$$ Donor!

VP Biden’s daughter on film with cocaine. ABC, CBS, and NBC offer no coverage. When “Biden” and “Cocaine” are searched on the NBC site it gives you a picture of Bristol Palin….

ABC’s Jake Tapper Not Giving the Full Story on Alaska Earmarks

Newsbusters Slams ABC and Gibson for Editing Out Key Portions of Palin’s Statements (that made her look good).

Hey Gibson! About that Bush Doctrine: There are SIX of them. Palin was right again.

ABC News Get’s It Wrong In Palin Interview

More Media B.S. – ABC News Broadcasts Bogus Palin Hit Piece Before McCain Speech

]

Posted in Chuck Norton, Click & Learn, Journalism Is Dead, Leftist Hate in Action, Palin Truth Squad | Leave a Comment »